Palmer Museum of Art announces 2017 Docent Choice Tours

The Palmer Museum of Art at Penn State welcomes the public to stop by the exhibition hall on Sundays this semester to spend an evening in the galleries with a docent-guided visit. Visits start at 3 p.m. in the Christoffers Lobby and last around 45 minutes. Each visit will be special and led by an alternate docent, concentrating on an area of their special interests.

The tour schedule is as follows:

Sunday, Sept. 17: 

“Flowers and Fruit: Representations in Still Life” with Katherine Yeaple

Sunday, Sept. 24:  

“Let’s Take a Painting Apart!” with Susan McCartney

Sunday, Oct. 1:

“Men of the Palmer” with Lauren Grego

Sunday, Oct. 8:

“Hudson River School” with Nancy Weinreb

Sunday, Oct. 15: 

“Funk Art” with Deborah Meszaros

Sunday, Oct. 22: 

“Bay Area Artists at the Palmer” with Cathy Zangrilli

Sunday, Oct. 29:  

“Depicting Women” with Betsy Allen

Sunday, Nov. 5:

“Art with a Message” with Jackie Sobel

Sunday, Nov. 12:   

“Sculpture at the Palmer” with Karen Lintner

Sunday, Nov. 19:    

“The Inspiration of New York City: American Art and Artists Come of Age” with Sally Kalin

Sunday, Dec. 3:

“My Birthday Present to Myself: My Favorites” with Susan McCartney

Sunday, Dec. 10:   

“American Art, American History” with Vinnie Scanlon

Sunday, Dec. 17 : 

“Portraits through the Ages” with Dotty Ford

All projects are held at the Palmer Museum of Art and supported by the Friends of the Palmer Museum of Art unless generally noted.

Displays on see at the Palmer Museum of Art this fall are “Asher B. Durand: To Begin Again,” Sept. 5 through Dec. 10; “New Acquisitions: Minna Citron after Atelier 17,” Sept. 5 through Dec. 10; and “BIG Deal: Sizeable Paintings from the Permanent Collection,” Sept. 5 through Dec. 17.

For more data on the gallery and a schedule of other up and coming occasions, visit palmermuseum.psu.edu.

About the Palmer

The Palmer Museum of Art on the Penn State University Park grounds is a free-confirmation expressions asset for the University and encompassing groups in focal Pennsylvania. With a gathering of 8,300 articles speaking to an assortment of societies and spreading over hundreds of years of workmanship, the Palmer is the biggest craftsmanship exhibition hall amongst Pittsburgh and Philadelphia. Territories of quality incorporate its gathering of American craftsmanship from the late eighteenth century to the present, Old Master canvases, photography, pottery and studio glass, and a developing accumulation of contemporary workmanship. The historical center presents 10 displays every year and, with 11 exhibitions, a print-examine room, 150-situate theater, and open air design plant, the Palmer Museum of Art is the main social asset for occupants of and guests to the locale.

Historical center hours are 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday and twelve to 4 p.m. Sunday. The historical center is shut Mondays and some occasions. The gallery will have altered hours of twelve to 4 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 18, through Sunday, Nov. 26; and Saturday, Dec.16, through Thursday, Dec. 21. The exhibition hall will be shut Thursday, Nov. 23; Friday, Nov. 24; and Friday, Dec. 22, through Monday, Jan. 1, 2018.

The Palmer Museum of Art gets state expressions financing support through an allow from the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, a state organization subsidized by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the National Endowment for the Arts, a government office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *